© 2023 WUKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Rock & Roots REWIND: Week of April 3rd 2023

This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from The Long Ryders (Seasons Change), Steve Mason (The People Say), Chiiild (Bon Voyage), Mikaela Davis And Southern Star (Don't Stop Now), The National Parks (Trouble), Billy Valentine & The Universal Truth (Home Is Where The Hatred Is), & Bettye LaVette (Plan B)!

Monday evening on Joe's Blues was all about the fool with a show titled Fools Sing Foolish Things. Featuring new music from Billie Holiday, BB King, Otis Rush, The Rolling Stones, & more! The full playlist can be found here.

Saturday night on The Crunkadelic Funk Show brought plenty of grooves for all the fools! Featured music from Donny Hathaway, Isis, Sarah Vaughan, The Main Ingredient, Rufus Featuring Chaka Khan, Jill Scott, The Doobie Brothers, Kali Uchis, Aretha Franklin, & more! A full playlist can be found here.

DeBraun Thomas fell in love with radio at a young age but only had interest in working in radio after learning Funk musician Sly Stone got his start in radio. A native of the San Francisco Bay Area, Thomas moved to Lexington in 2009 to attend the University of Kentucky and pursue a career in radio. Thomas joined WRFL in 2009 and through the UK school of Journalism, Thomas had 2 features air on WUKY. In October of 2012, Thomas began interning at WUKY and produced the Unghosting of Medgar Evers. In August of 2013 Thomas became a staff member at WUKY and since that time, Thomas regularly produces the weekly segment Local Music Mondays which highlights local musicians in Lexington. Thomas hosts the Crunkadelic Funk Show which airs Saturday nights at 9pm and also produced a documentary on the 50th anniversary of the March on Frankfort. In addition to producing and hosting a radio show, Thomas also explores his other passion as a musician in Lexington.
Related Content
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Daisy The Great (Glitter), Unknown Mortal Orchestra (Meshuggah), Grouplove (Hello), Bully Featuring Soccer Mommy (Lose You), Ally Venable Featuring Buddy Guy (Texas Louisiana), GA-20 (Dry Run), & Joy Oladokun Featuring Noah Kahan (We're All Gonna Die)!
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Hozier (Eat Your Young), The Milk Carton Kids (All Of The Time In The World To Kill), Daughter (Party), Band of Heathens (I Got The Time), The New Pornographers (Angelcover), Weyes Blood (Children Of The Empire), & Peter Gabriel (Panopticom (Bright Side Mix))!
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Milky Chance (Living In A Haze), Tianna Esperanza (Buy You A New Attitude), Nick De La Hoyde (Don't Go Changing), boygenius (Not Strong Enough), Taylor Hicks (Porch Swing), Allison Ponthier (Character Development), & Durand Jones (Lord Have Mercy)!