© 2024 WUKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Rock & Roots REWIND: Week of March 20th 2023

This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Hozier (Eat Your Young), The Milk Carton Kids (All Of The Time In The World To Kill), Daughter (Party), Band of Heathens (I Got The Time), The New Pornographers (Angelcover), Weyes Blood (Children Of The Empire), & Peter Gabriel (Panopticom (Bright Side Mix))!

Monday evening on Joe's Blues saw nothing but green with a show titled All Things Green. Featuring new music from Little Richard, Tom Waits, Marianne Faithfull, Howlin Wolf, Mighty Joe Young, Johnny Cash, Peter Green's Fleetwood Mac, & more! The full playlist can be found here.

Saturday night on The Crunkadelic Funk Show celebrated the life and musical legacy of the late great Bobby Caldwell. A full playlist can be found here.

DeBraun Thomas fell in love with radio at a young age but only had interest in working in radio after learning Funk musician Sly Stone got his start in radio. A native of the San Francisco Bay Area, Thomas moved to Lexington in 2009 to attend the University of Kentucky and pursue a career in radio. Thomas joined WRFL in 2009 and through the UK school of Journalism, Thomas had 2 features air on WUKY. In October of 2012, Thomas began interning at WUKY and produced the Unghosting of Medgar Evers. In August of 2013 Thomas became a staff member at WUKY and since that time, Thomas regularly produces the weekly segment Local Music Mondays which highlights local musicians in Lexington. Thomas hosts the Crunkadelic Funk Show which airs Saturday nights at 9pm and also produced a documentary on the 50th anniversary of the March on Frankfort. In addition to producing and hosting a radio show, Thomas also explores his other passion as a musician in Lexington.
Related Content
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Beach Fossils (Don't Fade Away), Cults (Gilded Lily), Savage Animals (Already Gone), Emily King (Medal), Tyler Boone (Running Sideways), Bartees Strange (Daily News), & Tame Impala (Wings Of Time)!
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Milky Chance (Living In A Haze), Tianna Esperanza (Buy You A New Attitude), Nick De La Hoyde (Don't Go Changing), boygenius (Not Strong Enough), Taylor Hicks (Porch Swing), Allison Ponthier (Character Development), & Durand Jones (Lord Have Mercy)!
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Ian Hunter Featuring Ringo Starr & Mike Campbell (Bed Of Roses), Young The Giant (The Walk Home), Almost Monday (Only Wanna Dance), Moon Taxi (Classics), Band Of Heathens (Don't Let The Darkness), Margo Price (Shotgun Willie), & Albert King (I'll Play The Blues For You)!