© 2024 WUKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Rock & Roots REWIND: Week of April 18th 2022

This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Grant-Lee Phillips (A Sudden Place), Pinegrove (Cyclone), The Local Honeys (Dyin' To Make A Livin'), Father John Misty (Goodbye Mr. Blue), The Offspring (Behind Your Walls), Alt-J (Hard Drive Gold), & Maggie Rogers (That's Where I Am)!

Monday evening on Joe's Blues celebrated National Poetry Month with a show titled Bluesoetry For Spring! The show featured an archived conversation with Affrilachian poet Nicky Finney and the late Kentucky Poet Laureate, James Baker Hall. The full playlist can be found here.

Saturday night on The Crunkadelic Funk Show focused on bag of grooves from 2021-2022. Featured music from Jazmine Sullivan, Jon Batiste, Mary J. Blige, Curtis Harding, Syd & Lucky Daye, Trombone Shorty Featuring Lauren Daigle, Silk Sonic, & more! A full playlist can be found here.

DeBraun Thomas fell in love with radio at a young age but only had interest in working in radio after learning Funk musician Sly Stone got his start in radio. A native of the San Francisco Bay Area, Thomas moved to Lexington in 2009 to attend the University of Kentucky and pursue a career in radio. Thomas joined WRFL in 2009 and through the UK school of Journalism, Thomas had 2 features air on WUKY. In October of 2012, Thomas began interning at WUKY and produced the Unghosting of Medgar Evers. In August of 2013 Thomas became a staff member at WUKY and since that time, Thomas regularly produces the weekly segment Local Music Mondays which highlights local musicians in Lexington. Thomas hosts the Crunkadelic Funk Show which airs Saturday nights at 9pm and also produced a documentary on the 50th anniversary of the March on Frankfort. In addition to producing and hosting a radio show, Thomas also explores his other passion as a musician in Lexington.
Related Content
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Band Of Horses (Warning Signs), Georgia Harmer (All In My Mind), Lyle Lovett (12th Of June), Adia Victoria (Ain't Killed Me Yet), River Whyless (Promise Rings), Trombone Shorty Featuring Lauren Daigle (What It Takes), & Edgar Winter (I'm Yours And I'm Hers)!
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Bruce Hornsby (Sidelines), Hippo Campus (Ride Or Die), Mt. Joy (Lemon Tree), Ozomatli (Sacude), The Killers Featuring Lucius (The Getting By II), Angel Olsen (All The Good Times), & Harry Styles (As It Was)!
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Beach House (Superstar), Soccer Mommy (Shotgun), Keith Richards & The X Pensive Winos (Take It So Hard), Daisy The Great (Cry In The Mirror), Soft Cell & The Pet Shop Boys (Purple Zone), Dirty Dozen Brass Band Featuring Aaron Neville (Stomping Ground), & Mavis Staples & Levon Helm (You Got To Move)!