© 2023 WUKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Rock & Roots REWIND: Week of April 4th 2022

This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Bruce Hornsby (Sidelines), Hippo Campus (Ride Or Die), Mt. Joy (Lemon Tree), Ozomatli (Sacude), The Killers Featuring Lucius (The Getting By II), Angel Olsen (All The Good Times), & Harry Styles (As It Was)!

Monday evening on Joe's Blues was celebration, or really just another reason to have a good time with a show titled Party Time! The show featured music from The Ohio Players, Wanda Jackson, ZZ Top, The GAP Band, Sam Cooke, Fishbone, & more! The full playlist can be found here.

Saturday night on The Crunkadelic Funk Show was a mixed bag of groove! Featuring music from Billy Preston, LaBelle, Minnie Riperton, Tower Of Power, Bootsy Collins, Diana Ross, The Average White Band, & more! A full playlist can be found here.

DeBraun Thomas fell in love with radio at a young age but only had interest in working in radio after learning Funk musician Sly Stone got his start in radio. A native of the San Francisco Bay Area, Thomas moved to Lexington in 2009 to attend the University of Kentucky and pursue a career in radio. Thomas joined WRFL in 2009 and through the UK school of Journalism, Thomas had 2 features air on WUKY. In October of 2012, Thomas began interning at WUKY and produced the Unghosting of Medgar Evers. In August of 2013 Thomas became a staff member at WUKY and since that time, Thomas regularly produces the weekly segment Local Music Mondays which highlights local musicians in Lexington. Thomas hosts the Crunkadelic Funk Show which airs Saturday nights at 9pm and also produced a documentary on the 50th anniversary of the March on Frankfort. In addition to producing and hosting a radio show, Thomas also explores his other passion as a musician in Lexington.
Related Content
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Beach House (Superstar), Soccer Mommy (Shotgun), Keith Richards & The X Pensive Winos (Take It So Hard), Daisy The Great (Cry In The Mirror), Soft Cell & The Pet Shop Boys (Purple Zone), Dirty Dozen Brass Band Featuring Aaron Neville (Stomping Ground), & Mavis Staples & Levon Helm (You Got To Move)!
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Weezer (A Little Bit Of Love), Little Quirks (The Rain), half•alive (Move Me), Belle And Sebastian (If They're Shooting At You), Tré Burt (Know Your Demons), MUNA (Anything But Me), & Arcade Fire (The Lightning I, II)!
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Caamp (Believe), Mister Green Featuring Tom Morello (Annabelle), Milky Chance (Synchronize), Nilüfer Yanya (Midnight Sun), Delbert McClinton (Ain't That Lovin You), Kaleo (Backbone), & JD McPherson (Let's Rock)!