© 2024 WUKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Rock & Roots REWIND: Week of January 30th 2023

This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Van Morrison (Worried Man Blues), Stephen Sanchez (Evangeline), Josh Ritter (For Your Soul), Samia Featuring Papa Mbye (Mad At Me), Biig Piig (In The Dark), Ruston Kelly (The Weakness), & Arlo Parks (Weightless)!

Monday evening on Joe's Blues celebrated the life and musical legacy of Elmore James with a show titled A Showcase Of Elmore James. Featuring performances inspired by Elmore James from Etta James, Sonny Landreth, George Thorogood, & more! The full playlist can be found here.

Saturday night on The Crunkadelic Funk Show was a dive into Psychedelic Soul! Featured music from Baby Huey & The Babysitters, Ruth Copeland, Ike & Tina Turner, The Chambers Brothers, Minnie Riperton, Shuggie Otis, New Birth, Funkadelic, & more! A full playlist can be found here.

DeBraun Thomas fell in love with radio at a young age but only had interest in working in radio after learning Funk musician Sly Stone got his start in radio. A native of the San Francisco Bay Area, Thomas moved to Lexington in 2009 to attend the University of Kentucky and pursue a career in radio. Thomas joined WRFL in 2009 and through the UK school of Journalism, Thomas had 2 features air on WUKY. In October of 2012, Thomas began interning at WUKY and produced the Unghosting of Medgar Evers. In August of 2013 Thomas became a staff member at WUKY and since that time, Thomas regularly produces the weekly segment Local Music Mondays which highlights local musicians in Lexington. Thomas hosts the Crunkadelic Funk Show which airs Saturday nights at 9pm and also produced a documentary on the 50th anniversary of the March on Frankfort. In addition to producing and hosting a radio show, Thomas also explores his other passion as a musician in Lexington.
Related Content
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from The Nude Party (Ride On), Wilder Woods (Maestro (Tears Don't Lie), Overcoats (Never Let You Go), Everything But The Girl (Nothing Left To Lose), L.A.B. (Take It Away), Belle & Sebastian (I Don't Know What You See In Me), & Gorillaz Featuring Tame Impala & Bootie Brown (New Gold)!
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from Tennis (Let's Make A Mistake Tonight), SYML (Believer), Altın Gün (Rakıya Su Katamam), Little Simz (Gorilla), The Commonheart (Hustler), Eric Bibb (Family), & Taj Mahal (Gee Baby Ain't I Good To You)!
  • This week: Rock & Roots featured new music from The Mother Hips (Codine), The Heavy Heavy (Go Down River), Mark Erelli (Is It Enough), Brett Dennen (This Is Gonna Be The Year), Letters Of Acceptance (Alone For A Century), Bob Weir Featuring Tyler Childers (Greatest Story Ever Told), & The New Pornographers (Really Really Light)!