© 2024 WUKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

FEMA and SBA Detail Services Available to Storm Victims

By Brenna Angel


LEXINGTON, Ky. -- – The severe weather that struck Kentucky on the first weekend in May caused flooding, mudslides, and tornadoes, leaving behind millions of dollars worth of damage.

WUKY News recently spoke with FEMA representative John Treanor and Richard Daigle of the Small Business Administration to talk about what Kentuckians need to know about the recovery process.

Residents of the designated counties (see below) must call 1-800-621-FEMA or go online to disasterassistance.gov to register for possible federal aid. After an inspection and damage assessment, homeowners will learn if they qualify for a federal grant.

Richard Daigle says once residents complete their registration with FEMA, they should apply for a low-interest loan with the Small Business Administration.

"They can choose whether or not they want to use the loan. So they have a choice there. That gives them the ability to say at a later date, you know what this SBA loan is just what I need because I can't get money from my bank, the grant money wasn't enough."

Kentucky Counties Designated for Individual Assistance

Adair, Allen, Anderson, Barren, Bath, Boyd, Boyle, Carter, Casey, Elliot, Fleming, Franklin, Garrard, Green, Greenup Hart, Henry, Jackson, Jessamine, Leslie, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Menifee, Mercer, Metcalfe, Monroe, Montgomery, Nicholas, Nelson, Owen, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Simpson, Warren, Washington, and Woodford.

Kentucky Counties Designated for Public Assistance

Adair, Allen, Anderson, Barren, Bath, Boyd, Boyle, Breckenridge, Carter, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Garrard, Grayson, Green, Greenup, Hart, Henderson, Hancock, Hopkins, Jackson, Jessamine, Knott, Larue, Leslie, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Mason, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Nelson, Ohio, Owen, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Simpson, Taylor, Warren, Washington, Wayne, and Woodford.