© 2024 WUKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

2023 Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame inductees announced

Carnegie Center for Literacy and Learning

The Carnegie Center for Literacy and Learning has announced the 2023 class of the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame.

Official Release:

Marsha Norman, Suzan-Lori Parks, both accomplished playwrights, screenwriters, and Pulitzer Prize winners, and Richard Taylor, former Kentucky Poet Laureate (1999-2001) and 2018 recipient of the Thomas D. Clark Medallion, are among this year's inductees into the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame.

The 2023 Hall of Fame class will also include two posthumous Kentucky writers: Romantic poet Madison Cawein, known as the “Keats of Kentucky,” and Harlem Renaissance poet, writer of short stories, and journalist Blanch Taylor Dickinson.

The induction ceremony will take place at 7 p.m. on Thursday, March 23 at the Kentucky Theatre in Lexington, KY. The event is free and open to the public. No registration is required.

The Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame was created by the Carnegie Center for Literacy and Learning in 2012 to recognize outstanding writers with strong ties to Kentucky. Members of the Hall of Fame are chosen by committees at the Carnegie Center and the Kentucky Arts Council.

Norman, Parks, and Taylor join ten other living inductees in the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame: George Ella Lyon, Loyal Jones, James C. Klotter, Nikky Finney, Wendell Berry, Bobbie Ann Mason, Barbara Kingsolver, Gayl Jones, Gurney Norman, and Sena Jeter Naslund.

Biographies, bibliographies, and photos of the five new inductees, and past inductees, can be found on the Carnegie Center website: https://carnegiecenterlex.org/kentucky-writers-hall-of-fame.

Alan Lytle has more than 25 years of experience as a Kentucky broadcaster. Over that span he has earned multiple awards for anchoring, writing and producing news & features for WUKY. He took home the Kentucky Broadcasters Association's Best Radio Anchor award in 2021.