© 2024 WUKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Bevin Creates New Board For Kentucky Retirement Systems

Josh James

Gov. Matt Bevin has abolished the Kentucky Retirement Systems Board of Trustees and replaced it with a Board of Directors.

Bevin's office said in a news release Friday afternoon that he appointed four new members with investment experience and that current members will retain their seats. He appointed John R. Farris as chairman and David L. Eager as vice chairman.

Last month, the Republican governor used state police officers to prevent the ousted chairman from participating in a meeting of the board of one of the country's worst-funded pension systems.

The new members are William S. Cook, Neil P. Ramsey and State Budget Director John E. Chilton, all of Louisville, and David L. Harris of Nicholasville, bringing the total number of board members to 17.

Related Content