© 2024 WUKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

2015 Kentucky Writers Hall Of Fame Inductees Announced

For the first time, a list of inductees for the Kentucky Writers Hall of Fame includes a living writer.

The six author were selected from more than 200 nominees sent in to the Carnegie Center for Literacy and Learning from both the general public and a committee that includes former state poet laureates. Center executive director Neil Chethik says 2015 marks a departure from previous years.

"From the very beginning, we wanted to remind ourselves of the great legacy of Kentucky writing, and that goes back 200 years, but we always had it in our mind that we would eventually induct living authors. Because part of what we want to do the Hall of fame is to give incentive and to honor the writers that we have working right now," he explains.

To that end, the Center’s Hall of Fame Creation Committee selected as their overwhelming choice Wendell Berry, citing his mastery of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and agriculture writing. The list also includes famed gonzo journalist Hunter S. Thompson and University of Kentucky professor and beloved fiction writer Guy Davenport.  

The induction ceremony will take place at the Carnegie Center next Wednesday.

Josh James fell in love with college radio at Western Kentucky University's student station, New Rock 92 (now Revolution 91.7). After working as a DJ and program director, he knew he wanted to come home to Lexington and try his hand in public radio.