© 2024 WUKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Public Forums to Focus on Ky. House, Urban County Council Candidates

LEXINGTON, Ky. - The Lexington chapter of the League of Women Voters will host two public forums this month for local candidates running in the November 6th General Election. The invited participants are seeking office in the Kentucky House of Representatives and the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Council.

Cindy Heine, Vice-President of the League of Women Voters of Lexington, says the election-day ballot will go beyond the presidential and congressional candidates.

“There’s a lot of attention to those races and less attention to the races that are more local. So it is very important I think for citizens and voters to have the opportunity to see candidates and hear from them directly.”

Heine says the events will not be a debate, but will allow members of the audience to submit questions.

“We want the audience and voters, those who participate, to have a chance to see the candidates and hear them kind of off the cuff instead of in campaign-mode with sound bites and campaign literature.”

The first event, focused on the Kentucky House candidates, is scheduled for this Saturday at the downtown Lexington Public Library auditorium. The Urban County Council candidate forum will also be held there on Saturday October 13. The forums will be recorded and broadcast on the library's Insight channel 20.

Saturday, October 6, 2012

1:15 p.m. until 4:15 p.m. 

Candidates for House of Representatives:


1:15 p.m. District 88: Reginald Thomas (Dem), Robert J. Benvenuti III (Rep)

2:00 p.m. District 76: Ruth Ann Palumbo (Dem), Richard Marrs (Rep)

2:45 p.m. District 79: Susan Westrom (Dem), Chris Logan (Rep)

3:30 p.m.  District 45: Geoff Young (Green), Breck Withers (Ind), Stan Lee* (Rep)


Saturday, October 13, 2012

10:00 until 3:45 p.m.

Candidates for Urban County Council


10:00 a.m. District 1: Chris Ford, Marty Clifford*

10:45 a.m. District 2: Shevawn Akers, Brannon Dunn

11:30 a.m. District 3:Diane Lawless, Stephanie Spires

1:00 p.m. District 4: Julian Beard, Sam Cox*

1:45 p.m. District 9: Jennifer Mossotti, Bill Polyniak

2:30 p.m. District 10: Harry Clarke, Steve Nelson

3:15 p.m. District 12: Ed Lane, Ralph Ruschell*



*As of October 2, Mr. Lee, Mr. Clifford and Mr. Ruschell have not responded to League of Women Voters invitation. Mr. Cox has another commitment and in not able to attend.

Lexington native Brenna Angel anchored local morning newscasts for WUKY through May 13. She joined the station in March 2010 after previously working for WHAS-AM in Louisville.
Related Content