© 2024 WUKY
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Four Council Incumbents Not Seeking Re-Election

By Josh James


Lexington, KY – Candidates for Lexington's Urban County Council had until four o'clock this afternoon to file to run in the November election and, as Josh James reports, a number of familiar faces have chosen to let that deadline expire.

Four incumbents - that's nearly a third of the council - could end being replaced by new faces this November. Tom Blues of District 2, KC Crosbie in District 7, Jay McChord of District 9, and District 10's Doug Martin have all decided not to seek re-election. Vice Mayor Linda Gorton says they leave behind more than empty seats at the horseshoe.

"We're losing a lot of experience - for example, Tom Blues. He chairs task forces, he chairs a standing committee, he's here every day," Gorton says.

Blues calls his time on council rewarding and challenging.

"This is my fifth year on council. I'll be completing six years in three terms. I think it's time for some new adventures," Blues says.

Lisa Sanden and Shevawn Akers have filed for Blues' seat. Meanwhile, Connie Kell and former council member Jennifer Mossotti are both seeking Jay McChord's spot on council. Jason Rainey will run for Crosbie's seat and Harry Clarke intends to run for Doug Martin's seat.